‘Extraordinary Means’ by Robyn Schneider

23149128Summary: ” Lane is seventeen when he finds himself at Latham House, a sanatorium for teens suffering from an incurable strain of tuberculosis. Part hospital and part boarding school, Latham is a place of endless rules and confusing rituals.

At Latham House, Lane meets a girl he knew years ago. A girl that he met at a camp years ago. Instead of the shy loner he remembers, Sadie has transformed into a sarcastic, fearless, and utterly compelling. But Sadie seems to dislike him for a reason that he doesn’t know. But slowly, Lane becomes a part of her group and Sadie and her friends show him their secrets: how to steal internet, how to sneak into town, and how to disable the med sensors they must wear at all times.

But there are consequences to having secrets, particularly at Latham House. And as Lane and Sadie begin to fall in love and their group begins to fall sicker, their insular world threatens to come crashing down.”


Note: There won’t be any spoilers in this review, because you just have to read it yourself!


So this book was the second Robyn Schneider book I’ve read, and I LOVED it. I read ‘Severed heads broken hearts / the beginning of everything’ a while ago, and it was great. It was a really good book! But extraordinary means is a MASTERPIECE.

Before I even started reading the book, I was already hooked. I opened it and saw the first page, the ‘foreword’.

So I loIMAG1006oked at the ‘foreword’ and was like “She’s quoting Hemingway AND Fitzgerald before the book starts ? She got me

The book is written in two different POV’s. Lane’s & Sadie’s. I usually don’t really like it when a book is written in different POV’s, for example Zac & Mia, I would have preffered only one POV. But honestly? I loved the two different views!

I was simply hooked since page 1. I finished this book within 3 hours, which is a new personal record for me! It was amazing. I laughed, I cried and it made me think about a lot of things.

And I love it when books make me think.

'Living and dying are actually different words for the same thing ' - Extraordinary Means, Robyn Schneider

I honestly never thought about it this way. But it’s true. It is the same thing.

Like I mentioned in a previous post: We all live to die one day & one day we will die because we lived.

And that quote was just right into the feels. It was so true and deep and I read it and was like ‘WOAH’. I wasn’t able to continue reading, I had to put the book aside for a moment.

cover65033-small

There were so many amazing moments in this book, filled with so many different emotions!

I’d like to share some of my reactions with you, that I had while reading it. Don’t worry they are spoiler free!

Kayleigh told me that I HAD to read the book, so did. And while reading it I texted her my reactions to certain scenes:


THAT SCENE !!! FREAKING TRUE.

 

Damn I’M HAVING A LOT OF FEELINGS

All the harry potter references I’m in Tears

Sadie is reading john green

 

Okay I’m okay

Too many feels Nooooooo

OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD

NO

SERIPUSLY ?!?@?@

!+#-$-@

How awfully amazing

 


TBH, I don’t really wanna say much about the book. You just need to read it. I cried a lot while reading it, I cried at the end, but I also laughed a lot. It’s a beautiful story, beautifully written. It’s really amazing.


So, this Book gets 10 out of 10 Stars. It was AMAZING. Robyn’s best book.

On Kayleigh‘s Scale: John green level +++ | amazing | fab | great | good | meh | bad | awful | crappy | the worst | twilight level 

I would say ‘Extraordinary Means’ is a John Green leven +++


Ladies & Gentlemen, Robyn Schneider !

maxresdefault

