Books I’ve bought this month

Book Haul August 2015


hungry

Hello dear readers! It’s been a while since I bought new books, but yesterday I got myself a few new ones. I got off work an hour earlier and I happen to work in a mall so, what do you do when you get off an hour earlier? That’s right, you go book shopping!


IMAG1081So at the end of June I ordered a copy of ‘Me and Earl & the dying girl’ by Jesse Andrews. I wanted to read that book for a long time now, and I’m super excited to watch the movie!!

Yesterday after work, I went to the bookshop that’s right around the corner from where I work & I got myself these three books. I had a hard time deciding what to buy, ’cause I didn’t want to be $180 on books ….

So I grabbed a copy of “An abundance of Katherines” by my boo John Green.

“All the bright places” by Jennifer Niven, I read lots of positive reviews about this one of GoodReads, so I wanna give it a try as well!

And last but not least ….. “FANGIRL” by Rainbow Rowell!!! I FINALLY got myselftumblr_lui0yvxkYV1qcbz8o a copy of this book. I’ve been dying to read this book, but unfortunately I’ve been completely broke the past months. But now, that I got my first paycheck, I thought it was time to finally buy it, and I couldn’t be more excited to read it !:)


  1. “Me and earl & the dying girl” by Jesse Andrews

” Greg Gaines is the master of disappearing at will into any social environment. He likes being invisible. HMe_and_Earl_and_the_Dying_Girle, and his only friend Earl, spend all their time together making movies. That is until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel. Rachel has been diagnosed with leukema. When she stops treatment, Greg & Earl decide to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of ther lives. And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.”

I really liked the plot of this story. After reading “TFiOS” by John Green last year, I made a list of books that I wanted to read. I got most of the books from the my google search ‘books to read after TFIOS’. And I heard so many good things about this book. Death is always a tough topic, but Jesse Andrews wrote about it in a very humoristic kind of way, which I really like. I’m super excited to read this book asap & I’m also looking forward to watching the movie. So far, I was able to ignore the movie, I only watched the trailer, but I don’t know anything else about it. I won’t watch the movie any time soon, because I wanna read the book first.

Honestly, I didn’t know who the hell Jesse Andres was. This is his debut novel, which means he was a nobody until this book. But I’m always open to new authors, authors that just published their debut novels. You never know, they could be the next J.K. Rowling.


2. “Fangirl” by Rainbow Rowell412XH9UvpbL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…
But for Cath, being a fan is her life. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone.
Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?
And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?”

Like I said, I wanted to read this book for a while now! I’ve heard so many good things about it & I mean, the title is FANGIRL. How could I not read that? I don’t think I need to keep talking about why I wanna read this book really bad, do I?


3. “An Abundance of Katherines” by John Green

an-abundance-of-katherines“Katherine V thought boys were gross. Katherine X just wanted to be friends. Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail. K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.
On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.”

Two of my friends recommended this book to me, and since it’s a John Green it was obviously on my ‘Books to buy’ list. Duh! I read on GoodReads that some people didn’t like this book, but I’m still excited to read it & to get my own opinion about it!! 🙂 I do love John Green, and even if this book won’t be as flawless as LfA & co, doesn’t mean it sucks, right?

Anyway, I’m very curious about this book and can’t wit to read it.


4. “All the bright places” by Jennifer Niven
 
Theodjennifer_niven_all_the_bright_places_coverore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.”

I found this book on GoodReads and there it said that this is perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Ranbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman & Jenny Downham.

Jay Asher fan? Check! Rainbow Rowell fan? Check! John Green fan? Double Check! Gayle Forman fan? Check! I do have to admit that I don’t know Jenny Downham, but I will definitely google her previous work!!

So I thought that the summary was pretty interesting. I may be weird, but death & suicidal thoughts in a YA romance novel always get to me. Because it’s such a tough & important topic.
I have a good feeling about this book, and I heard that there will be a movie adaptation starring Elle Fanning! How exciting!! I will definitely read this book before the movie comes out, I just prefer it this way. I mean, the movie is set to come out in 2017. I suppose I will have read the book by then haha!! 😀


I hope you guys enjoyed this little blog post! I am really sorry for being so inactive lately, I just had a lot of stuff going on 🙂 But I do have a lot of cool blog posts planned and I will start their drafts today!! 🙂 I will also try to write some for my stories on Fictionpress !

And in case you didn’t know, I’m a part of Kayleigh’s  Bloguest 2015! In my first post I talked about my favorite book-to-film adaptation & my second Guest post comes out at the end of the month, so be sure to follow Kayleigh & her awesome project!! 🙂                                                    SmalltownBookworm is a part of this project too, she was the first one to write her guest post, and it was about 4 bookshops around the world she’d like to visit!

Thank you for reading ❤

-Kira

