Broken Samurai – Al Carlisle

51dqu0pilal

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*

I was very excited when I got the chance to read this book. I hadn’t read any non-fictional books in a long time, and the fact that „Broken Samurai“ was about a man who suffered from PTSD after serving in the Vietnam war really interested me. I had also heard the name „Al Carlisle“ before, so I jumped right into reading this book.

The story follows Danny through his time in Vietnam, where he was surrounded by death, had to see friends being killed and found himself going numb. The reader also learns a lot about Danny’s past, and about his past war days. To see what happened to Danny after returning from war, was truly awful. His PTSDs slowly took over him and turned him into a whole different person, a numb person, who did awful things.

I enjoyed Carlisle’s writing style, he wrote a „preface“ before starting chapter 1, which really got me hooked. The story is mostly told in the style of an interview. Carlisle asked Danny questions about himself, and I found Denny to be extremely open and clear about how he was feeling. It was „easy“ to understand how he felt and what was going on inside of him.
It shocked me to see what PTSDs can do to someone. I never dealt with anything close to PTSDs, neither do I know anyone close to me, which is one of the reasons I wanted to read this book. I hope that more people will read this book to understand, what war can do to people. Sadly, wars are still present today. I don’t want to talk about how war affects the people, that is a different story, but rather how it affects the soldiers who are being trained to kill. But no one helps them deal with it. „Teaching“ them how to deal with the fact that you killed people. And how to deal with what you had to witness, other people being killed.

It was hard for me to feel sorry for Danny, because he did horrible things. But his past explains what triggered him to do some of these things, and though it does not make Danny’s actions okay, it makes you understand what PTSDs can do to someone and that those people truly need professional help.
The most important message of this book, is raising awarness for PTSDs. And that it so important. Any kind of mental health issues are still „taboo subjects“, things you don’t really talk about. But we have to talk about them in order to prevent more people to turn numb from their pain, to prevent them from becoming „Danny“.

I would give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

